Superficiality and Ego, my old friends

    EN:

    How can that be, right? Good question.

   Well, throughout the years, going through the usual high school student’s struggles with grades, parents, crushes and friends, I discovered I could really rely on a few things in harder times: my honesty and loyalty towards friends, my acute sense of righteousness and will to succeed on my own, if possible, or fail trying. And I couldn’t help but think that all those might have come from my ego. Or at least were strongly related.

    Ok, but how? What do you mean? I mean that my ego has always been present like a voice in the back of my head telling me stuff like “Don’t say that, this is too low for you”, “Control your reactions, you must be better than those people”, “Don’t lie, you must be above that, lies are for small people.”, and so on. Am I proud of the feelings of superiority this voice is bestowing upon me? No. Not at all. Most of the time, I bet they’re not even true. What I am proud of, is that it has somehow shaped me into a very honest, loyal, fair-play person. Proud to be all that.

    What about superficiality then? This is different. Not as much of a quality. But it has improved certain aspects of my life. It mostly helps me pick beautiful things. Dress and look better. Surround myself with beautiful things and steer clear of the ugly and negative ones. Live with a positive vibe. Somehow, it helps me be very selective and collect beautiful experiences and memories. It helps me live beautifully. Or so I like to think.

    So no, I am not afraid to say that yes, to some degree, I can be shallow. I think we all can. Most just choose to hide it and pretend to see deeper, beyond the covers, and only be interested in spirituality and character, and intellect. Like it would be wrong to admit that you are human and predisposed to flaws. To superficiality. I am interested in all things beyond the surface too. But how could I pretend that beauty doesn’t interest me? After all, I aspire to be an artist. I aspire to make seeking beauty, my job.

    And we’ve already agreed that I don’t lie.

    RO:

     Cum așa, nu? Bună întrebare.

   Cu timpul, trecând prin diversele probleme aferente vieții de liceean, cu note, părinți, îndrăgosteală și prieteni, am descoperit că mă pot baza cu adevarat pe câteva lucruri, să mă scoată din dificultăți: sinceritatea și loialitatea mea față de prieteni, un foarte puternic sens al dreptății și voința mea de a reuși pe cât posibil pe forțele proprii, sau a eșua încercând. Și nu am putut să nu mă gândesc că toate astea se trăgeau din orgoliul meu. Sau cel puțin erau strâns legate.

    Ok, dar cum? Ce vrei să zici? Vreau să zic că orgoliul meu a fost mereu prezent, ca o voce pe fundal, în capul meu, spunându-mi chestii că “Nu spune asta, e prea josnic pentru tine”, “Controlează-ți reacțiile, trebuie să te comporți mai bine decât oamenii de lângă tine”, “Nu minți, ești deasupra minciunilor, minciunile sunt pentru oameni mici”, și așa mai departe. Sunt eu mândră de sentimentele de superioritate pe care vocea mi le insuflă câteodată? Nu. Nici pe departe. Majoritatea timpului, pariez că nici macar nu sunt adevărate și adecvate. Dar sunt mândră de faptul că m-a transformat cumva într-o persoană sinceră, loială, dreaptă. Mândră că sunt toate astea.

    Dar cu superficialitatea cum e? Aici e diferit. Nu chiar o calitate. Dar mi-a îmbunătățit anumite aspecte ale vieții. Mă ajută în mare parte să aleg lucruri frumoase. Să mă îmbrac și să arăt mai bine. Să mă înconjor cu lucruri frumoase și să fug de cele urâte și negative. Să trăiesc într-un vibe ceva mai pozitiv. Cumva, mă ajută să fiu foarte selectivă și să colecționez experiențe și amintiri frumoase. Mă ajută să trăiesc frumos. Sau cel puțin așa îmi place să cred.

    Deci nu, nu mi-e frică să spun că, în oarecare măsură, pot fi superficială. Cred că toți putem fi. Majoritatea doar aleg să o ascundă și să pretindă că văd numai sub aparențe, și că sunt interesați doar de spiritual și caracter, sau intelect. Ca și cum ar fi greșit să admiți că ești om, și deci predispus defectelor. Și superficialității. Și pe mine mă interesează toate celelalte lucruri aflate dincolo de aparențe. Dar cum aș putea să mă prefac neinteresată de frumos? Doar urmăresc arta, și doresc să fac din a căuta frumusețea în orice, un job.

    Și doar am stabilit că nu vă mint.

Leave a Reply

