Enthusiasm and writing

Enthusiasm is not the same as just being excited. One gets excited about going on a roller coaster. One becomes enthusiastic about creating and building a roller coaster. 
                                                                                                                            Bo Bennett

  

    RO:

    Să fiu sinceră, am o relație destul de on/off cu entuziasmul. Nu e nici cel mai bun prieten al meu, dar nici vreun amic îndepărtat. Nu știu dacă așa sunt construită eu (prietenilor mei le place să îmi spună că sunt pesimistă însă îmi ignoră complet momentele de entuziasm și optimism, zic eu) sau dacă viața se distrează pe seama mea, aruncându-mi în cale ceva despre care să fiu entuziasmată pentru ca minutul urmator să arunce o mare grămadă de rahat. Sau să îl ia pe cel bun înapoi. Sau ambele.
    În unele zile, trezindu-mă plină de voință de a scrie (sau de a face temele pentru facultate sau de a spăla vasele, alegeți voi), mă așez la computer, îmi deschid programul de scris favorit sau WordPress-ul, și imediat simt tot entuziasmul cum îmi iese pe fiecare deschizătură a craniului pe care o poate găsi. Ca atunci când după trei zile (deși cred că au fost vreo patru, de fapt) în care nu am auzit mai nimic cu una dintre urechi, am simțit cum lichidul acum cald (apă de mare, nu întrebați) s-a decis brusc, fără nici un avertisment, să curgă afară din urechea mea. Ciudat sentiment.
    Oricum, se pare că azi nu este cazul din moment ce am reușit să scriu aceste paragrafe în cam cinci minute. De fapt, cu cât pun mai multe cuvinte pe… ecran, cu atât mă simt mai entuziasmată în ce privește scrisul. Dar dulcea ironie e că trebuie să-l las deoparte acum și să mă ocup de niște teme stupide.
    Cred că am atins un paradox al entuziasmului aici: să te simți extrem de entuziasmat în legătură cu un lucru și să fii la capătul opus al spectrului în legătură cu altul, în exact același timp!

    EN:

    To be quite honest, I’ve a very on and off relationship with enthusiasm. Not my best buddy, not a distant friend either. I don’t know if I’m built that way (my friends like to call me a pessimist even though I think they completely ignore my moments of enthusiasm and optimism alike) or if life simply likes to have fun on my behalf, one minute throwing me something to be enthusiastic about and the next throwing a big pile of crap. Or taking the good things back. Or both.

    Some days, having woken up driven by a burning will to write (or do my college assignments or wash the dishes, you choose), I sit at my computer, open my favorite writing program or WordPress, and then feel the enthusiasm slipping away out of every crack and opening it can find around my skull. Just like that one time when after three days (I think it was actually four) of not hearing much with one ear, I felt how the now warm liquid (seawater, don’t ask) suddenly, without a warning, decided to just come streaming out of my ear. Odd feeling.

    Anyway, it seems that today is not the case as I’ve been able to write those paragraphs in just five minutes or so. Actually, the more words I put down on the… screen, the more enthusiastic I feel about writing. But the sweet irony of it all is that I must put writing aside for now and take care of some stupid assignments.

    I think we’ve reached an enthusiasm paradox here: feeling extremely enthusiastic about one thing while being at the other end of the spectrum about another, at the exact same time!

Photo: Pinterest

Powered by The Daily Prompt hihi

Enthusiasm

3 Comments Add yours

  1. blogblog65 says:

    You’re a very complicated person and I must say you’ve completely confused me.

    Like

    1. ioanamciocan says:

      Thanks? I mean, I know I can be :))

      Like

Leave a Reply

